Carbon Mitigation Initiative


Alumni Advisory Council Members

Richard T. Barber Richard T. Barber
NSEES Professor Emeritus, Duke University
Regulation of ocean productivity by physical processes such as climate.

Dallas Burtraw Dallas Burtraw (2009-2016)
Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future
Dallas Burtraw's research interests include the design of environmental regulation, the costs and benefits of environmental regulation, and the regulation and restructuring of the electricity industry.

John Holdren John Holdren (2001-2007)
John P. Holdren is adviser to President Barack Obama for Science and Technology, Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, and Co-Chair of the President's Council of Advisers on Science and Technology

David Keith David Keith (2001-2014)
Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS) and Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School, Harvard University
Professor Keith has worked near the interface between climate science, energy technology and public policy for twenty years. His work in technology and policy assessment has centered on the capture and storage of CO2, the technology and implications of global climate engineering, the economics and climatic impacts of large-scale wind power and the prospects for hydrogen fuel.

Michael Levi Michael A. Levi (2011-2016)
David M. Rubenstein Senior Fellow for Energy and the Environment, Council on Foreign Relations
Michael Levi is the director of the Program on Energy Security and Climate Change at the Council on Foreign Relations. His research focuses primarily on policy design for climate change mitigation and for U.S. energy security, with a strong emphasis on U.S. foreign policy.

Richard G. Newell Richard Newell (2008-2009)
Gendell Associate Professor of Energy and Environmental Economics
Economics of energy and environmental markets, policies, and technologies; climate change; energy efficiency; and market-based environmental policy.

Richard Richels Richard Richels (2001-2006)
Director of Global Climate Change Research at Electric Power Research Institute
Energy analysis, environmental risk, and utility planning research activities.

Chris Somerville Chris Somerville (2008-2014)
Director, Energy Biosciences Institute
As Director of the Energy Biosciences Institute, Dr. Somerville oversees all academic activities at the Institute, including research, communications, education and outreach. Somerville is the Philomathia Professor in Alternative Energy in the Department of Plant and Microbial Biology at the University of California, Berkeley.

Mark C. Thurber Mark C. Thurber (2008-2010)
Assistant Director for Research at the Program on Energy and Sustainable Development at Stanford University's Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies
Diffusion of central and distributed energy technologies; reform of state-owned enterprises in energy; business models of energy provision to the very poor.

David Victor David Victor (2008-2010)
Professor at the School of International Relations and Pacific Studies and Director of the School's Laboratory on International Law and Regulation, Stanford University
Energy policy - the future role of natural gas, electric power market reform, and rural energy development; genetically modified foods/plants and related trade policy; climate change policy; role of technology, innovation and competition in development; and forest policy.

Heather Youngs Heather Youngs (2014)
Senior Fellow, Energy Biosciences Institute
Dr. Heather Youngs is a senior fellow at the Energy Biosciences Institute. She is an expert on the development of bioenergy technologies in the context of energy access and security, climate change, and long-term economic, social, and environmental sustainability. Youngs has provided expert analysis to members of Congress, governmental agencies and NGOs, including UNEP and UNESCO. She is executive editor of the publication Bioenergy Connection.

Last update: July 14 2016
BP Princeton Environmental Institute © 2018 The Trustees of Princeton University
CMI is sponsored by BP.